Famous Places Synonymous With Inventions

The world is an oyster, and we are born with this incredible craving to leave our footprints on each and every corner of it. Thanks to the famous explorers who set out on a journey to explore this globe slowly unraveling the glory of mankind which we are proud of till this date. From the first flicker of the fire discovered by the friction of stones, the quest and thirst of man’s discovery for the world beyond remains endless. From the first ship, to the paper, glass, watch, wheel culminating to the dawn of industrial revolution we are grateful for every single discovery made today.

We should be incredibly thankful to our ancestors, who have made it possible for us to reap the benefits of their discoveries every day. As we continue our journey towards potential discoveries, we can remember these great men by visiting some places which are associated with some little known inventions which we use every day.

When you sip a cup of tea think of the place from where it was brought to your table, when you switch on that light remember who, where and how it was invented. When you check the time on the wristwatch, remember where the magic first happened.

We are about to explore some of these exquisite and quirky destinations which are recognized due to their famous inventions. Let’s find out these everyday stuff inspired from some places we often happen to utter by chance or vice versa-

1)Adirondack Mountains– Who isn’t smitten by the beauty of the serene Adirondack Mountains in the upstate New York? From the majestic waterfalls to hiking trails lined up with trees, from gushing waterfalls to placid lakes, Adirondacks is the place where adventure awaits tourists flocking round the year.

Besides being a favorite vacation spot, it relates us to one of our chairs to bank on! Of course, it needs no mention which garden furniture was inspired by the majestic beauty of the Adirondack Mountains. It is your favorite chill out Adirondack chair lying on the deck!

Now the Adirondack chairs became so cool we tend to forget the place it’s synonymous with. Interesting isn’t it! So we definitely owe those cozy pieces to the great Adirondacks!

2) Bakewell Tart-This famous mouthwatering English dessert is known all over the globe because of its crunchy pastry shell topped with almonds beneath layers of jam and frangipani. Bake well tart is said to have its origin in Bake well, Derbyshire region of U.K. Alternatively it can also be garnished with glazed icing.

Now let’s peek into the background of this place which gave birth to this authentic dessert. Bake well is a small market town said to be 1000 years old with a local church at the heart of the district national park which makes it a tourist attraction all the same.

Bakewell tart is believed to be a variant of Bake well pudding, and first came into being due to a minor shuffle in recipe. The story goes that the landlord of White Horse Inn, Mrs. Greaves, left the recipe for jam tart for her cook. One of the main ingredients, the almond paste and the eggs, were spread on top of the tart rather than put inside the tart. Once popped out of the oven, it appeared like an egg custard and was an instant hit among the visitors. And the rest is history, and that’s how Bakewell is remembered across the globe.

3) Bangalore Torpedo-

This one is dedicated to Bangalore, a city in the southern state of Karnataka in India. A Bangalore Torpedo is an explosive inserted in one or several interconnected tubes. The Bangalore torpedo was first invented in the year 1912 by Captain McClintock of the Bengal, Madras and Bombay sappers and miners as a means of exploding booby traps underground during the World War I.

Bangalore Torpedoes are still in use today as present M1A2 and M1A3 versions in the United States Air force and an advanced version in the British Armed Forces and the Australian defence forces. It was used by the US and Vietnam during the Vietnam War and also during the Yum Kippur war in 1973 by the Israelis to detonate the Syrian minefields.

4) Bungalow-

How often do we hear this term “Bungalow”? We just can’t get enough amazed at how words and terminologies from different languages have been adapted into our dictionary. And we head into yet another mesmerizing term, which is common as cold! A bungalow is a small sprawling cottage built with sloping roofs and wide verandahs and usually has a garden and a backyard for family activities. This term is derived from Gujarati “Bangalo” which means “Bengali” used to describe a house in Bengal style. The first ever classified bungalow was built in the year 1869 in England. Bungalows were the prerogative of rich landlords and the elite class until the breakthrough in the classification of societal hierarchy, when anyone who could afford and spend money could live a bungalow.

A bungalow is a single family home without any staircase in the living area, built on a rectangular foundation. Across the globe, bungalows have been adapted into contemporary architecture based on the aesthetics of the residents.

5) Champagne-

Popping up the cork of a champagne bottle marks the beginning of any celebration. But did the ever faint thought cross your mind, where did “Champagne” get its name from? Well, well, let’s come and swoosh into the facts about this bubbly stuff.

Champagne is a type of sparkling wine which hails from the Champagne region of northeastern France.

The French take their wine quite seriously, and it was affirmed in the Treaty of Madrid 1891 and Treaty of Versailles that only sparkling wines from the Champagne region of France can use the term Champagne as opposed to its generic use. Traditional champagne is produced using a méthode champenoise

41 Comments Add yours

  1. Jennifer Prince says:

    This was a fun one! I had no idea that the word bungalow originated from a place. Although, I did know about the Adirondack chairs. I love finding out tidbits like this!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Puloma.B says:

      Hi Jennifer,
      Thank you so much for your appreciation! It really means a lot. Yes the origin of some of the words is really intriguing.

      Like

  2. As an engineer I must admit to being a bit of a geek. So fascinating to read more about famous places synonymous with inventions. We should indeed be grateful to such creative minds. I love that you have included a variety of things including food on your list. One day I will make it to Champagne for a tasting.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Puloma.B says:

      Thank you so much for your appreciation 😍 it means a lot to me as a creator.

      Like

  3. SherianneKay says:

    I love these reminders. I tend to rush through life often not paying attention to what is obvious or directly in front of me. Super interesting that bungalow were invented in 1869 England. When I think of bungalows Southern California pops into my mind.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Puloma.B says:

      Yes it’s very interesting to see things matter of factly. Yup, I too love the Spanish style bungalows from Southern California. Architecture is intriguing in all forms.

      Like

  4. Paula says:

    How interesting! Some of these I didn’t even know that they were a place. Very cool! Bakewell Tart was completely new to me but it looks delicious. Champagne must be the most famous of these, I hope I get to visit there someday.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Puloma.B says:

      Hi Paula,
      Thank you so much for liking it😍.Yes some of them were new to me as well.

      Like

      1. Tami says:

        You put together some fun facts here! My favorite being the Adirondack chair… I hadn’t heard of Bakewell before but now I’d like to taste one of their tarts. Thanks for an interesting post.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. I appreciate the newfound knowledge I’ve discovered today from reading your post. Thanks for putting all these trivia facts together. From now on, I’ll be more mindful of the objects around me whenever I visit a new place. I might learn a thing or two about it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Puloma.B says:

      Hi Trisha,
      Thank you so much for your appreciation 😍it really means a lot!I would love to share more such posts on such travel trivia’s.

      Like

  6. Umiko says:

    I wish last summer we could spend sometime in the area where we like to sit on its invention: the Adirondack. It’s good to learn about the Bakewell Tart and Bangalore Torpedo. I didn’t know that Bungalow came from a house style in Bengali. I guess it’s time to fill up our champagne glasses and cheers to the new knowledge!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Puloma.B says:

      Hi Umiko,
      Thank you so much for your appreciation it really means a lot 😍 yes nothing like sitting with a chair and soaking up the beauty of the Adirondacks. 🥂 Cheers to you too, I would love to share more such trivia.

      Like

  7. Wow this was an awesome read. I especially loved the invention after Bangalore. I am from Bangalore and I did not know about that. I will definitely need to look after at Bangalore Torpedoes more and that’s such an interesting story.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Puloma.B says:

      Hi Raksha,
      Thank you for liking the post.Nice to know you’re from Bangalore.I would like to add some more trivia’s to this post.
      Yes the facts are really interesting.

      Like

  8. Amrita says:

    This was quite interesting! I did now know the origin of the name bungalow came from Bangla word! It was fun knowing all these trivia.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Puloma.B says:

      Hi Amrita,
      Thank you for sharing your thoughts. Yes even I was unaware of its origin, until I went on to research on the topic🙂.
      I wish to explore more on such trivia’s.

      Like

  9. Nina Bosken says:

    Wow this is so interesting! I knew about adirondack and champagne but I hadn’t heard about the other ones!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Puloma.B says:

      Nina Bosken, Thank you for your appreciation 😍.I’m going to add some more trivias to it and there are many interesting cities’ names related to the places.

      Like

  10. Alma says:

    Interesting and fun one! When we speak about a bungalow it’s normally referring to a round house with a thatch roof used for accommodation at our game reserves or lodges. A family house is a very different thing!

    Like

  11. Puloma.B says:

    Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts! I love to share these trivia’s.

    Like

  12. Natascha says:

    I love the angle of this post! Of all the places I would only have come up with Champagne. And I also thought of Boullion. The Bangalore Torpedo is interesting, never heard about that!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Puloma.B says:

      Natasha,
      Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts!

      Like

  13. Jamie says:

    Adirondack chairs are some of my favorites and I’ve love a chance to sit on them in the Adirondacks. I didn’t know, however, that torpedos came from Bangalore or the origin of “Bungalow” in terms of the Bengal style home. The origin of Bakewell was also really fascinating, with the market element in there.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Puloma.B says:

      Thank you so much Jamie.🙂

      Like

  14. I love posts like this. Knowing a history behind inventions and names are those fun travel facts that make trips much more interesting. I did know about Champagne and Adirondack, but not the others. Fun fact, in Canada we call “Adirondack” chairs “Muskoka” chairs – for the same reason. Muskoka is a popular place in cottage country where these chairs were made popular.

    Like

  15. Lisa says:

    These are all fun facts! I knew about Champagne and Bakewell Tart but I never heard of the others. The Adironack looks and sounds beautiful. It’s a part of the world I would like to see!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. SherianneKay says:

    Visiting the Champagne region of France is on my bucketlist. I love Adirondack chairs, I have wanted to get a few for the patio for quite some time, beautiful place and great chairs! I’m not curious about the Bakewell Tart

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Puloma.B says:

      Yes Sherianne, Adirondack chairs are my favorite too.

      Like

  17. Wow..what an interesting read. I had no clue about most of the terms. I am fascinated by the word Bungalow and had no idea that it came from Gujarati “Bangalo”. Quite an enriching read it was.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Puloma.B says:

      Yes Parnoshree I’m glad you liked it, there is more to come🙂

      Like

  18. Such a different post and so interesting as well. Adirondack chairs are so cozy and it was great learning about how it came into existence. Never knew about the origin of Bungalows and also Bangalore Torpedos. Great learning.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Puloma.B says:

      Thank you Shubhashish, I’m glad you liked it 🙂

      Like

  19. Ami Bhat says:

    Alright – now this one is new. Bangalore Torpedo named after the very city I stay in. I did not know of that origin. And Bungalow too – never would have attributed to the word Bangla that is so used in this part of the world. Quite a list, Puloma.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Puloma.B says:

      Thank you Ami, I’m glad you liked it hoping to add some more to it🙂.

      Like

  20. Jackie says:

    You learn something new every day! Of course, I knew about champagne, and the Adirondack chairs (I’m a New Englander), but the Bakewell tart, bungalow, and torpedo were news to me! Fascinating how language evolves, isn’t it? And so entertaining.

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Agnes says:

    It’s very informative and funny. I had no idea that the word bungalow originated from a place and was invented in 1869 England. I haven’t been to the Adirondack Mountains yet, but I love to relax on Adirondack chairs. And I am fascinated by the story of the Bakewell tart, which is believed to be a variant of Bake well pudding. Well, I’m going to find some recipe and prepare it during the weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Puloma.B says:

      Yes the Adirondacks are beautiful ❤️

      Like

  22. Clarice says:

    This is a great post. I had no idea that Adirondack chairs were inspired by the Adirondack mountains. I have never thought about the connection but after reading this. It totally made sense. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Puloma.B says:

      Thank you so much for your appreciation Clarice I have to add more to this.🙂

      Like

  23. This is an informative post. I didn’t know about Bangalore torpedoes. And I am now going to view lounging chairs differently, keeping the view of the Adirondack Mountains in mind. I think the only thing I knew from this list was about Champagne.

    Like

Leave a comment